Everyone Has A Favorite Saying, Right?

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

Nona has a favorite saying.  I can tell it’s her favorite because she says it often.  You know her as well or better than I do, so you might already know what the phrase is.

Nona, Papa, and I were driving in a rented car from Cairns (pronounce “cans”) to Kuranda, when Nona used that phrase again.  She said, “Papa, remember, we’re on a budget, so we’ll stop for groceries rather than go out for supper.”  She followed that with, “I have made a list what to buy.”

DSC05355

You know what, “I have made a list” might be Nona’s favorite phrase.  She uses that one a lot too.  Still, I think the budget one is more a favorite. She really likes numbers, especially when she can “input” them into a spreadsheet!

DSC05227

Well, after Nona said, “We’re on a budget” and “rather than go out for supper” and “I’ve made a list,” you know, Papa didn’t say anything. It was almost as if he hadn’t heard her.  I’m guessing that “we’re on a budget” is not his favorite phrase.  By the number of times he says it, I imagine that Papa’s favorite phrase is “do they have any apple pie here.”

DSC04665pies

Of course, I might be mistaken.  Although, when Papa saw this sign on one of our walks, I could just see the spring go out of his step, cur plop.

IMG_9004nopiesWhat’s my favorite phrase, you ask?  Well, it’s not “Solbit, look over here and smile for the camera.” I can tell you that.  Nona says that one a lot, too.  No, I think my favorite phrase is, “I’m your friend.”  I say that one a lot.

DSC05178

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

May 2014

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

