Solbit Takes a Stand on Amanita muscaria

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

What do you think?  Does my orange complexion and red head go with this red and white mushroom or not?

Ulva Island

I kind of like the combination. I feel like I fit right into this forest.

When we got back from our walk in the woods (they say, “the bush” here in New Zealand), I asked Papa to look up “red mushroom” on google.  He found a wikipedia article, and it said that this cool looking mushroom is “Amanita muscaria, commonly known as the fly agaric or fly amanita.” So, I took a stand on Amanita muscaria.  How many of us can say we’ve done that? DON’T EAT IT. NOT GOOD FOR YOU!

We saw this fly agaric mushroom in a lot of places as we walked through the woods, especially near pine trees.  Hey, wanna see me walking in the woods, I mean in the bush?

Ulva Island

Guess what?  When we first approached these red and white mushrooms, they were so bright and shiny that Papa said, “Look, some kid left toy mushrooms by the tree.”  Nona corrected him, “Papa, those really are mushrooms.  Solbit, check them out and tell Papa they’re real.” So, I did.

Ulva Island

“Hey, Papa, come take a closer look.  They’re real!” I said.  He did.  Then, he exclaimed, “Well, I’ll be …!” I can’t write that last word he used.  Nona says it’s a swear word, and we don’t use swear words.  Hint:  the word Papa used starts with the letter “d.”  He’s not supposed to use that word, but I hear him say it often, especially when he drops something.  Seems to do that a lot.

Everywhere we go, there’s something that Nona does a lot too, but it’s not swearing.  What she does a lot is take photos, especially of me.  I think, maybe, I’m her favorite subject!

Ulva Island

You might say I’m her model, because she puts me in different situations and says, “Now, Solbit, look here.  Smile.”  Then she presses the camera shutter.  We go home, load all the day’s photos into her MacBook Air laptop, and we look at all the things we did that day.  It’s like having a second hike in the woods — I mean, bush — all over again.

Nona has today’s photos uploaded to her laptop now, so I’ve gotta go look at them.  Bye!  I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

January 2014

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

