Solbit Goes Face-to-Face with a Dragon

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

I came face to face with a Dragon today.  She was about fifty — that’s 50 — times my size.  Yowee!

Here’s how it happened.  Nona and Papa took me for another one of their hikes. Notice: I restrained myself from saying, “one of their forced marches.” They had taken me to see the Blue Mountains, west of Sydney.  After what seemed like — and, in fact, was — several kilometers hiking on a track (that’s what Australians call a “trail”), Nona put me on top of a stone sign post. She said, “Wait here.”  While she did more of her birdwatching, I walked around the top of this post and heard a “Psst. Psst. Hey, come over here and see me.”  I did, and this is what I saw …

trip to Blue Mountains, National Pass Hike from Wentworth Falls

I just about jumped out of my orange dino skin!  What a shock!

The dragon could see how scared I was. She said, “Don’t be frightened little iguanodon girl.  I’m big.  I’m a dragon, but I can’t move.  They’ve got me pinned to this post so you hikers can see what an Eastern Water Dragon looks like. I’m just moulded metal.  Hey, you look like you’re moulded too.”

trip to Blue Mountains, National Pass Hike from Wentworth Falls

I said, “Yes, I’m a Plastic Jurassic.  My name is Sparkle Orangie Lulu Breakit, but you can call me Solbit for short. Thanks for being so friendly! You sure scared me, and now you surprised me by knowing what kind of dinosaur I am.”

Just then Nona grabbed me and started hiking again.  I only had time to yell, “Goodbye, Ms. Dragon.”  She said something, but I couldn’t hear her.  Sounded like “Look out something slider … a way” or “look out something glider…down says.”  Didn’t make sense.  “Nona,” I asked, “What did that Dragon say?”  “I didn’t hear anything.  Dragon? What dragon?” she replied.  Not knowing what the dragon said was going to drive me crazy!

After Nona & Papa hiked another few kilometers, stopping again and again to look at the canyon and search for birds they heard but couldn’t see, Nona said, “Hey, Solbit, look at that sugar glider.  Wouldn’t you like to take a ride?”  She put me on this animal, apparently called a sugar glider, and said, “Look at the camera, Solbit, and took this photo.”

trip to Blue Mountains, National Pass Hike from Wentworth Falls

How about that? Now I think I know what Ms. Dragon said. She must have said something like, “Look for the sugar glider down the track a ways.”  Now I don’t have to go crazy.

As if seeing a dragon and a glider weren’t enough for one day, we also saw another animal with a most odd name, Cunningham’s Skink.  Here’s what it looks like.

trip to Blue Mountains, National Pass Hike from Wentworth Falls

I said, “Is that really your name, Cunningham’s Skink?” He said, “Please don’t make fun of my name.  I get teased about it all the time.”  I immediately felt sorry for him, “I’m sorry, Mr. Skink.  I won’t ever make fun of your name.  Can we be friends?  I’d love to tell my cousins that I know a skink with whom I’m good friends.  They would be amazed.”  He said, “OK, but tell your cousins to do everything they can to protect us skinks.  We need their help.”

What a day we had in the Blue Mountains on the National Pass Track!  I may yet learn to enjoy hiking.  Gotta go! We’re running for the train back to Sydney.  Bye!

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

May 2014

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

