Solbit Sees a Strange Seashell in Sydney

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

Hi.  We’re still in Sydney.  We had been wondering all around the MCA (Museum of Contemporary Art), when my traveling companions — Nona and Papa — and I decided to go to the café there and dine on the outdoor terrace.  (Well, you know what I mean.  They were eating lunch, and I was with them.  A Plastic Jurassic doesn’t need lunch, but she does need the company that comes with lunch. I love company, don’t you?)  Ooops. I’m rambling away from my topic, the strange building.

Nona & Papa stopped eating and said, “Hey, Solbit, let’s put you on one of these tall tables so you can see the view.”   Imagine my surprise when I took in this view:

 

DSC04302SsOpHse

 

“Hey, what’s that I asked?”  Nona answered, “Solbit, that’s the Sydney Opera House.”  I looked again and said, “No way, Momma! That’s no house.  That’s some gigantic colony of mollusks, a pile of seashells.  I know my mollusks, but I haven’t seen one that shape or that large. What is it really?”

Papa answered me, “No really, Solbit, Nona’s right.  It is not a giant mollusk colony, not a pile of seashells.  It really is a house, a big house, where people in Sydney go to the opera, to musicals, and to plays.”

As we spoke, my eyes focused better, and I could see that, indeed, that strange thing was a building and not an animal.” Here’s another picture.

 

DSC04304SOpHse

 

Nicalai, you’ve got to get your parents to bring you here to Sydney to see this opera house.  Amazing!

Sorry,  I’ve gotta go.  Nona and Papa are taking me to a place called Botany Bay. Of course, they’re walking all the way, so we have to go now.  I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

April 2014

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

 

2 thoughts on “Solbit Sees a Strange Seashell in Sydney

  1. That’s hilarious. Great photo.

Leave a Reply

