Solbit Finds Her Real Tasmanian Cousin

*New reader? Get oriented below.

 

Dear Nicalai,

Would you believe that I had to travel all the way from Portland, Oregon, in the U.S.A. to Sandy Bay in Hobart, Tasmania, Australia to find my long lost cousin?  I wouldn’t have believed it, either.  Hit me over the head, knock me down with a feather, sweep me out of the house with a broom, shut the door, I found my cousin here!

Our day started out well.  Our AirBnB host in Sandy Bay, Judith, greeted us at her door and took us to our lovely rented cottage in her backyard.  She had a surprise for me.  Yes, me! Here’s what she had waiting for me in the cottage:

DSC03582

Can you believe it.  Glittering Blue Bird will keep me company our whole stay here!  I had been in Tasmania only an hour, and I loved it already!

Then Nona and Papa took me out to the bookstores.  Well, you heard that story.  My good day took a turn for the worse, but, as I told you, I’m still alive!  Can you believe they let T. Rexes into bookstores these days? What’s the world coming to anyway?

Having survived my close call at Rapid Eye Bookstore, Nona and Papa said, “Solbit, we’re sorry you had such a fright.  We promise to take you to a nice place where you’ll be comfortable.” So they walked me to The Maker at the Salamanca Arts Centre.  The Maker is a really cool shop with nicely designed —artsy — things to buy.

Nona bought a little something, and, when she paid the pretty lady, Nona took me out of her purse.  Immediately the lady took in a deep breath and exclaimed, “Wait a minute, is that a Plastic Jurassic?”  Nona said, “Yes, she’s our traveling companion, Solbit.”  The nice lady said, “Don’t move.  Wait here. I have to get someone to meet you.”

So, of course, we waited.  Nona and Papa are old and retired.  I’m a plastic dinosaur. Where did we have to go in a hurry, right?  We had plenty of time to wait.

Soon, the lady returned with a plastic bag.  She read the label on the bag. It said, “Terrarium Kit.”  Inside were different types of little plants and another surprise for me.  My cousin! Yeah, her name is Citron, and she’s yellow like a lemon.  Here’s how we found her.

DSC03575 cousin

Citron took one look at me through that clear plastic and yelled, “Hey, GET ME OUTTA HERE!”  I think I had said something like that only minutes ago in the Rapid Eye Bookstore.

As soon as Citron was out, we had a wonderful reunion. We hadn’t seen each other since we’d been “minted” at the factory. I said, “Citron, you are soooo lucky to live in a beautiful shop like this one with all the cool artsy things surrounding you.”  She said, “Solbit, I have to warn you about something.  Whatever you do, don’t go to a bookstore, because there are T. Rexes there.’”  I said, “Don’t I know that, sister.  Wait ’til you hear what happened to me.”

We had a wonderful time chatting, but then it was time for us to go.  As we left, Citron said, “Please, Solbit, get someone to come to The Maker and buy me.  I want someone to get this terrarium started so I can live in a garden.”  I said, “Hey, we’d buy the kit, but we’re traveling and a terrarium just won’t work in a piece of roll-on luggage, but, guess what, my uncle and aunt from Washington, DC will be here next year this time.  I’ll tell them to buy you and take you home.  They are terrific gardeners and, girl, do they know how to cook!”

Well, a lot happened to me on my first day in Tasmania.  I hope you had a good day where you are.  Remember, I’m your friend.

Love,

 

Solbit

 

March 2014

 

 

*You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.

 

*You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

5 thoughts on “Solbit Finds Her Real Tasmanian Cousin

  1. Hi Beth and Joe, it was fun talking to you and Solbit on your recent visit to The Maker! Hope you and Solbit are enjoying your further adventures. Citron is delighted with her new found fame, and sends love.

  2. Hello Solbit! Helena told us about your adventure and where to find more of your tales. I’m glad you liked the shop. Come back and visit again soon!

Leave a Reply

