Solbit Escapes Danger in a Bookstore

*New reader? Get oriented below.

 

Dear Nicalai,

I escaped, and I’m alive! So you don’t have to worry, now, but, oh girl, I had a scary day.  Fortunately, it turned out well.

We had just arrived in Sandy Bay on the island of Tasmania in Australia.  The sky was blue.  The sun was out. Our taxi driver had been telling us about the celebrity signatures written in permanent marker on the seats of his taxi. Everything was going well.

As soon as we unpacked, Papa said, “Let’s explore Sandy Bay!” Nona agreed, “Great idea.  They have several bookstores for us to visit!”  I said, “Oh, no, not another bookstore.  Papa, you said bookstores can be dangerous things.  I’m not up for danger today.”  Papa explained, “Solbit, bookstores can be dangerous for ignorance, bigotry, and intolerance but not for people … or for a Plastic Jurassic. You’ll be fine.”

Oh, boy, does Sandy Bay have a bunch of used bookstores.  I even liked Kookaburra Books, with all its curios and antiques. However, while Nona and Papa were ooh’ing and aah’ing over used books in Rapid Eye Books, my eyes wandered around the store.  I was bored.  Then I saw them way up on a top shelf.  Holy Mackerel! I thought those were my cousins!  I yelled, “Papa, put me up there, please, and I pointed to my cousins.”  Papa, said, “Solbit, are you sure?”  “Yes,” I urged him, “please put me up there. I want to meet my Tasmanian cousins!”

Solbit asked Papa to put her on the shelf

Solbit asked Papa to put her on the shelf

There I was, right at their feet.  They were big and tall, but I could smell their breaths.  Immediately, I knew.  Meat-eaters!  Yikes! They weren’t my cousins.  They were Tyrannosaurus Rex.  I’m what they have for lunch! Fortunately, they hadn’t seen me yet.  So, I whispered to Papa, “Pssst. Papa. Get me down.”  He didn’t hear me and kept looking at a book, “Flora and Fauna of Tasmania.” He’s clueless!

Bad news. Not cousins of Solbit

Bad news. Not cousins of Solbit

 

Now, I’m shivering scared, and I think maybe the two Rexes are becoming aware that I’m only a nibble away. So, I risk being a little louder, “HEY, PAPA, GET ME OUTTA HERE NOW!!!!” I so startled Papa, that he grabbed me off the shelf and scolded me, “Solbit, shush, you can’t yell like that it a bookstore.” Whew! I was saved.

Nona came over and asked, “Hey you two, what’s all the fuss about?”  Papa told her, “Solbit’s misbehaving.  She was screaming at the top of her lungs.”  Nona gave me her you’ve-been-a-bad-girl-stare and asked me, “Solbit, what’s your story?”  I answered her, “Nona, Papa, you have no idea how dangerous a bookstore can be. Let’s make a rapid exit from Rapid Eye Books, please.”

We left and went rambling, and I’ve got to tell you about that next time. Time to go now.  I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

 

March 2014

*You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.

 

*You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

