Soblit’s First Ever Sleep Over

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

I can’t wait to tell you something. I had my first sleep over!  I was a bit frightened of being away from Nona and Papa all night, and, at first, I didn’t want to stay for the sleep over.  Now, I’m glad that I did, because I really enjoyed myself.

DSC00769

Nick’s orange shorts really complement my complexion, don’t you think?

As you know, Luke and Nick, Nona and Papa’s grandsons, have joined us for the Christmas holidays in Cambodia.  Of course, they couldn’t come to Cambodia by themselves, because they’re only 7 and 4 years old.  So, their mom and dad, Kirsten and Ian, brought them here to visit us.  Well, here’s how I got to have my first sleep over.

Nona and Papa gave Luke and Nick’s mom and dad the night off, so that they could have a date-night out on the town (Siem Reap).  Luke, Nick, Nona, Papa, and I had supper at our hotel, Les Bambous, and then we played.

DSC00771

Luke, Nick, and I did a lot of things together in Siem Reap. That’s a town in Cambodia.

To get ready for bedtime, we read stories.  You can’t see me there, but I’m between Luke & Nick listening to Nona read.  Sometimes Luke could read the story too.  He’s getting good at reading.  Nick kept saying, “More, more.”

IMG_8723

You can’t see me between Nick and Luke, but I’m there too listening to Nona read a story on her computer. She’s old, but she knows how to use a computer!

When Luke and Nick’s mom and dad got back, they said, “Hey, Solbit, want to stay for a sleep over tonight?”  Before I knew what I was doing, I said, “Yes!”  I had no idea what I was saying “yes” to. Kirsten said, “Great! Go brush your teeth. Nona and Papa can go to their room now and pick you up in the morning.”

I yelled, “What! I didn’t bring my toothbrush and aren’t Nona and Papa staying?  I need them here.”  Ian said, “Solbit, that’s what a sleep over is.  Your parents go home, and you sleep over with your cousins.”

“Oh, no,” I protested, “Nona and Papa are not my parents.  We’re traveling companions.  Luke and Nick are not my cousins.  They’re my friends.”  Kirsten tried to persuade me, “Solbit, you’re right, but you’re like family to us, and we think of you like a cousin to Luke and Nick.”  Well, I was so flattered that I slipped into agreement, adding, “Yes, and I’m like a cousin to Ainsley and Camden too. Right?”  Kirsten said, “That’s right, so you can sleep over with us, just as if you are one of our family.”  Now, I was enthusiastic, and I said to Nona and Papa, “Time for you two to go back to your room.  I’m sure you can take one night without me.”

So, they left, and, when the door shut behind them, I looked around to see four pairs of eyes staring at me, Luke, Nick, Kirsten, and Ian were all standing looking down at me. Then, all at once they all smiled. Luke picked me up, “Time to go to sleep.”  We let his mom and dad think that we were sleeping, but we (Luke, Nick, and I) were really playing with their toy cars under the covers.  Within minutes, we could hear someone snoring, or maybe two someone’s. Grown ups make a lot of noise when they’re sleeping, don’t they?

The next thing I knew, Nick was jiggling me saying, “Solbit, wake up; it’s morning.”  I woke up, and it was morning.  I didn’t remember falling asleep.  My sleep over went awfully fast.  Nick got dressed, carefully took me in his left hand, and asked his dad to take us to Nona and Papa’s room.  By then, I didn’t really want to go back, because I was happy being with Luke and Nick.

When Nick and his Dad got to Nona and Papa’s room, Nick knocked on the door.  Papa opened the door, and Nick handed me to Papa and waved goodbye to me, “See you later,” he said, “when we go for a tuk tuk ride later today out to the Wat.” (He meant Angkor Wat, but he has trouble with the word, “Angkor,” so he just says “Wat.”)

Papa asked me, “So, how was the sleep over?”  I said, “Really good! I’m glad I did that.”  You’ve probably been to lot of sleep overs.  I hope I get to do more of them, too.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

December 2013

*You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.

*You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

2 thoughts on “Soblit’s First Ever Sleep Over

  1. The boys are so adorable. Do visit Siem Reap again.

Leave a Reply

