Solbit’s On the Program of Nelson Opera in the Park!

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

Hey, look at me.  I’m on the program at the Nelson (NZ) Opera in the Park.  How cool is that!

Opera in the Park - Nelson

Solbit on the Program of Nelson Opera in the Park

Well, I’m not IN the program the way you were thinking, but I am ON the program, aren’t I?  Papa and Nona have emphasized again and again, that I have to tell the truth all the time.  So, I told you the truth, and, yet, I misled (fooled) you, didn’t I?

Nona says this was ok to make a joke, but she sternly told me that I am not supposed to mislead anyone for other purposes, like taking advantage of someone.  I know what she means, don’t you?

We went to the Nelson Opera in the Park last night.  Nona and Papa had tickets.  The opera people said I could get in free, because I’d be the first ever dinosaur to come to their performance.  Isn’t that nice of them?

So, why was I “on” that program, anyway?  Because the opera was in Trafalgar Park on the lawn. We either had to bring really short folding chairs or a “rug” to sit on.  Papa and Nona had beautiful Costa Rica cloths to sit on, and Papa said, “Solbit, why don’t you sit on the opera program so the wind doesn’t blow it away, and so that you can read us what each next song will be.”  So, I did, but, sometimes, …

Opera in the Park - Nelson

Solbit got a soft seat at the opera, no extra charge.

I sat on Papa’s head so that I could see the big crowd and the performers on Stage.

I’ve never been to a concert. Have you? A trio, called “Twinset,” (because two of the three are twins) warmed up the crowd, along with a beautiful lady who sang songs with them.  One played drums; one played a keyboard, and one played a saxaphone.  Some of their music got me and others “dancin’ in the park.”

Then we heard opera, jazz, and contemporary Maori performances, all with Orchestra Wellington.  I bet they were surprised to find out a dinosaur was in the audience.

Opera in the Park - Nelson

Amina Edris and Pene Pati sang opera songs. Soblit loved them!

IMG_9940 jazz

Solbit said, “Wow, James Morrison sure can play the trumpet…and the trombone…and the soprano sax. He’s funny, too!”

Opera in the Park - Nelson

Solbit was entranced by Hinewehi Mohi and Tama Waipara singing their original songs. She’s going to get their new albums.

For the finale — that’s the big ending of a concert — Orchestra Wellington played a rousing “Pomp & Circumstance No. 1 March.”  Guess what happened.  The night sky exploded with bright lights and booming noise.

IMG_9979 Fireworks

Nelson’s Opera in the Park ended with a BANG!

That’s what happened.  I nearly wet my pants (figure of speech, I don’t wear pants, you know). “What’s that?” I yelled.  Papa said,  “Fireworks!”

Wow! All the performers were great.  We clapped and yelled, “Bravo!” a lot after each one.

Nona says I have to keep this short.  I gotta go. I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

February 2014

*You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.

*You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

