Solbit Meets The Cats of Queenstown

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

Does your mom ever want you to do something that you don’t really want to do?  Does your mom ever think that you’re really cute in something that you don’t like?  Well, if so, then you’ll know exactly what I mean when I say, “Nona made me do it.”

Well, how could I refuse your grandmother, Nona?  I could tell that she had her heart set on me doing this:

DSC01456

Yeah, she said, “Oh, Solbit, go make friends with those cats.  You’ll have a great time.”  We had just gotten to Queenstown (NZ).  All I wanted to do was go meet the Queen.  Oh, no, Nona insisted that I go to the Crafts Market by Queenstown Bay to meet all these cats. (Turns out, the Queen doesn’t live in Queenstown.  Go figure.)

Have you ever heard a cat purr?  Well, imagine being surrounded by about a hundred cats all purring at the same time.  I’ll tell you, I was vibrating from my head to my toes.  I looked up at Nona for help to get out of there, and do you know what she said?  She said, “Oh, Solbit, you look so cute with all those little cats.  I just love it.  Don’t you?  Aren’t you glad you took my advice and went to meet them all?”

No, I wasn’t glad, but how could I tell Nona that, when her heart was so set on it.  I played along.  Acted like I was enjoying my self.  Provided her with a photo op.  Meanwhile, I’m thinking, “Hey, can you get the picture and then get me out of here pronto? PLEASE!”

Then one of the cats said to me, “Hey, I can tell you aren’t comfortable here, are you?”  That surprised me.  Insightful.  I said, “Well, no, not really.”

IMG_9132

Then she surprised me again.  She said, “I’m not either. Neither are all these other cats.  We like to have our own place and not share it with a bunch of other cats.  Now, we have to share it with not only a cat but also with an Iquanodon. No offense, I’m interested in dinosaurs, but I don’t like sharing my space with one.”

So, I asked her, “Well, then, why do you all gather out here at the Queenstown market?”  She said, “We don’t.  See that lady over there? She makes us.  Then she makes us come here every Saturday until and unless someone buys us from her and takes us home.”

That’s when I got really scared.  “You mean, if I stay here with you guys, someone might buy me and take me home?”  She said, “Yeah, that’s the only reason we’re here.  $5.50 New Zealand dollars, and you’re gone.”

“Holy Mackerel!”  I yelled to Nona, “Hey, Nona, get me outta here before someone buys me and takes me home!  I don’t want to go home with anyone else but you!”

Nona could see how frightened I was, and she picked me up right away. I said goodbye to my little cat friend.  She said, “You gotta be the luckiest dinosaur ever to have a family that loves you so much and that you love them.  I wish I had a family like yours.  All I have is this bunch of cats.”

Then I felt a little bad about leaving, but only a little.  She’s right, of course, I am lucky to have Nona and Papa. Hey, we’re running off to supper at some place called Vknow, so I have to go.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

January 2014

*You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.

*You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

