Solbit On Top – Oops, Make that Bottom – of the World

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

Hey, look at me.  I’m on the top bottom of the world! Yeah, I’m standing on the South Pole without my winter coat!

IMG_9883 Stotw

That’s a world globe I’m pictured on.  Papa told me that it’s like a map of the world that has been wrapped around a ball to look like our planet, the Earth.

I learned a new word today.  It starts with the letter L.  Can you guess what it is?  I gave you a hint in that picture.  Here’s another hint:  I am going across the globe.  I’m right by New Zealand, where we are visiting now.

DSC02453 Slatitude

OK, I’m going to tell you the answer.  When you are on the line going across the globe, you are on the “latitude” line.  “Latitude” is my new word!  Cool, huh?

Nona, who is always in a hurry to do the next cool thing, said that she was going to teach me another L-word.  It’s on the globe too.  I said that I didn’t know whether I could learn two new words today.

Nona said, “Solbit, don’t under-estimate yourself. I know you can do it.”  I asked her, “What does ‘under-estimate’ mean?” She said, “Under-estimate yourself means that you give yourself too little credit for what you can do.” I said, “Oh, ok, I’ll try to learn another L-word today.  What is it?”

She put me back on the globe but going in the up and down direction this time.  See?

IMG_9879 Slongitude

“Solbit, the second L-word is longitude.  When you go up and down on the globe, you are going long-wise; you’re walking the longitude line,” Nona taught me.

So, now I have two new L-words: Latitude, for when I go across the globe; it runs East and West, but it tells me how far North or South I am on the world globe, and Longitude, for when I go up and down the globe (or North and South), but it tells me how far East or West I am on the globe.  I’m going to have to work hard to remember that.

I got so excited that I said, “Quick, teach me another word, but give me a different letter this time.  OK?”  Papa said, “OK, Solbit, that’s the spirit!  See, you can learn cool things when you get excited about them.”

Then Nona taught me one more new word, and it was on the globe too.  She said, “Solbit, the globe has a special latitude line on it.  That special line shows where the middle of the Earth is.  Sort of like how someone’s belt shows where the middle of the person is.  That special latitude line starts with the letter E.”  Then Papa put me on that line on the globe.

IMG_9880 S equator

“What’s the word?” I asked.  Nona said, “Equator.”  So, all in one day, I learned 3 new words:  Latitude, Longitude, and Equator.  Pretty good day, huh? Hold the phone! I learned 4 new words!  I forgot that long word, “under-estimate.”  Wow!

Hey, write to me to let me know what new words you’ve learned.   I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

February 2014

*You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.

*You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

