Solbit Rents A Falcon

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

Hi, how are you today?  Oh, wait a minute.  It’s January, the beginning of a new year, and  I’ve learned that I’m supposed to say, “Happy New Year!”

Look at me.

IMG_9128

I’m at the Queenstown airport renting a Falcon!  No, not a raptor bird, I’m renting a car that’s called a falcon. Yeah, a real car.  It’s a Ford Falcon. It’s sleek silver. Speaking of colors, don’t you love the way the Budget sign complements my complexion!  Maybe that’s what drew me to them?  Back to the Falcon, though.  Here’s a photo.

DSC02456

Why would you name an automobile after a bird?  Why not name one after a dinosaur like me?  Then I’d say, “Hey, look at me, I’m renting an Iguanodon!”

DSC02478

Solbit looks pretty much like an Iquanodon.

The Budget lady asked for my driver’s license!  Can you believe it?  I said, “Lady, you gotta be kidding.  Look at me.  I so short I’m on your counter to see you. I’m a plastic dinosaur.  I don’t drive cars.  Hey, I don’t drive anything.”  She asked me, “So, then why do you want to rent a car?”

Nona and her cousin, Susie, had prepared me for that question and the one that comes after it. “So, we can drive around the South Island of New Zealand, to hike the Routeburn Track, go for a cruise on Doubtful Sound, and see your beautiful country.”

Lake Sylvan walk +

She liked my answer, so she asked the second question, “OK, who is going to drive the car?  I need his or her driver’s license, please.”

I said, “Susie, Tom, and Papa will be the drivers.”  Nona had already told me that she would not drive, because there was no way she was going to drive on the wrong side of the road.  Apparently, Susie, Tom, and Papa thought getting behind the wheel here would be fun.

Speaking of getting behind the wheel, that gave me a surprise.  Look at this car.

DSC02473

See the steering wheel?  It’s on the wrong side of the car!  That’s not all.  The cars here all drive on the wrong side of the road too.  Yeah, they “proceed on the left.”  Why?  Something to do with knights and horses in Europe centuries ago, but I don’t have time to look that up now.

Hey, Tom has gotten to be the first driver, and he’s tooting at me to disconnect from the airport wifi and get in the car.  What he actually said can’t be put into this blog, but the “spirit” of his words was something like, “Solbit, get your tale in the car now, or I’m going to drive away without you.”  So, I have to go.  Bye.  Remember, I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

January 2014

*You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.

*You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

3 thoughts on “Solbit Rents A Falcon

  1. As much as I’d love to rent an iguanodon, I can really only afford a budget diplodocus.

Leave a Reply

