Solbit’s Fun Day at Wat Muen San

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

How are you guys today?  Having fun I hope.  This morning, Nona and Papa changed their schedule, and, as a result, I had fun.

Here in Chiang Mai, Thailand the mornings and the evenings are warm, but the mid-day is hot and humid.  So, during the day, Nona and Papa like to stay inside with the air conditioning on, or they sit in the shade by the pool reading.

DSC08547 pool

Being a dinosaur, I don’t mind the hot and humid weather.  Actually, I like it hot and humid.  So, I wish we would go out during the day.  No, they stay in, and that means I’m zipped up in Nona’s purse pocket.

IMG_7817 zpocket

Today was different.  Papa and Nona came back from breakfast.  I could hear them talking.  “Since the weather is cooler today, maybe we ought to go for a walk this morning.  What do you think?” Nona said. “I’m ready to go,” Papa replied.  Then, I heard Nona say, “Did you put on your sunscreen?”  No answer from Papa, but I heard him getting something out of his backpack.  I bet it was his sunscreen.

I’m a dinosaur, and I don’t need sunscreen, so I was ready to go right away. Nona and Papa walked quite a distance, and I fell asleep on the way. Do you ever fall asleep when you’re on the way to something with your parents?

I woke up with a start.  Someone was pulling me out of Nona’s purse pocket. Then, I realized we must have arrived some place that they wanted me to see.  “Hey, where are we?” I asked.  Papa said, “Solbit, this is really cool. We’re at Wat Muen San!”

IMG_7785 muen san

“Oh, no, another wat. I have no interest in seeing another wat.  You’ve seen one; you’ve seen them all.  I’ve seen more than one.  Count me out.  Put me back in the purse, please.” That’s what I told them.

Papa said, “But, Solbit, this wat is different. It is covered in hammered silver metal. Look.  Isn’t this woman’s face calming and pretty?  You might say she’s serene.”  I knew right then this was going to be a boring day.  Why did they have to drag me along?

IMG_7789 woman

Then I heard some kid yelling, “Hey, wanna swing with me?”  I looked over at the big tree next to the wat.  “Papa, you go look at your very interesting and serene wat woman, while I go play with these kids.”

That’s when I started to have my fun.  One kid let me swing with her.

IMG_7791

Another gave me a ride in her backpack.

IMG_7788 bkpack

Then, get this, a lamb gave me a ride on her back.

IMG_7792 lamb

She dropped me off by an Asian elephant.  “Hi, little dinosaur.  Hop on and I’ll give you a lift up,” the friendly elephant said.

IMG_7793 elephant

Nona and Papa came over.  Nona said, “Solbit, we’re glad you’re having fun, but you’ll have to say goodbye to your new friends.  It’s getting too hot, so we’re going back to our hotel.”  Wouldn’t you know it, just when I’m having fun they want to leave.  I think it’s an adult thing.  Don’t you?

Anyway, what promised to be a very dull time at yet another wat turned into a fun time with new friends here in Thailand.  I guess you can find new friends and have fun with them when you least expect it.  I think that’s a kid thing. Don’t you?  I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

November 2013

*You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.

*You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

