Solbit Has A Complaint

  • New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

One day in Kyoto, Papa says that I woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning.  Do you know what that means, “woke up on the wrong side of the bed?”  How can you wake up on the wrong side of a bed? I didn’t know beds have a wrong side. Did you?

IMG_8104

Which is the wrong side of this bed?

Anyway, I told Papa that he doesn’t know what he’s talking about, because I’m a plastic jurassic, and, therefore, I don’t sleep.  If I don’t sleep, then I can’t wake up.  Right?  Right.  So, no, I did not wake up on the wrong side of the bed.

And another thing, if I did sleep, it wouldn’t be in a bed, would it?  No, I’m zipped into the Nona’s purse all the time.  If I slept, which I can’t do, I would sleep in the comfort of my own little pocket deep inside Nona’s purse.  Ha!

DSC09693

If I did sleep, it would be in this pocket of Nona’s travel purse, not in a bed.

So, Papa asks me, “Sparkle Orangie Lulu Breakit, do you have a complaint?”  He always says all four of my names when I have annoyed him.  You know what I mean?  Well, I said, “Yes, I have a complaint, and I’ll tell you what it is.  I think the title you gave my blog stinks!  ‘Tails of a Plastic Jurassic’ makes me sound like a three-tailed monster, a freak of nature.”

DSC09694

Dear Readers, Solbit has only one tail, but she has many tales.

Papa started to laugh, stifled himself, and quickly said, “Solbit, I’m sorry.  I apologize for making you angry, but please let me explain.”  Papa explained that the real title is Tales of a Plastic Jurassic, not Tails of a Plastic Jurassic.  He explained that sometimes two words can sound alike but have different spellings and different meanings.  These are homonyms. What a word. Homonyms.  I’m a plastic jurassic, and I’m saying “homonyms!”

When he said T-A-L-E-S, meaning stories, I heard T-A-I-L-S, meaning long pointy things behind your butt. He said, “Dear, dear Solbit, I wasn’t saying you have many tails (long pointy things at the end of your butt). I was saying you have many stories to tell, and you do have many stories to tell.  Don’t you?”

“Yes, I have many stories, tales, to tell, and, now, I have another cool word in my vocabulary:  homonym!”

So, I withdrew my complaint, and Papa and I agreed to continue to use the title “Tales of a Plastic Jurassic.”  (We’ll have to save “Tails of a Plastic Jurassic” for a different blog, maybe a fictional one about a dinosaur with more than one tail!  I wonder if someone has already taken that title on WordPress?  I’ll have to ask Papa to reserve it for us, just in case.)

Well, I guess Papa was right that I woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning, but that’s just figuratively speaking, not really.  Figuratively speaking, I’ll go to bed tonight with a new word and feeling relieved that I finally got that complaint off my chest.  Turned out, I had nothing to complain about. Has that ever happened to you?

Don’t you wake up on the wrong side of the bed tomorrow.  Just wake up and learn a new word. OK?

I’m your friend, Love,

Solbit

September 2013

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

